
Beehiv is expanding the machinery behind newsletter creation, targeting automation, monetization, testing, and design in one five-feature update. The release adds Click Triggers, Custom Group Deals, Random Cohort Sends, a Send API for Max customers, and the stable version of its Visual Editor.
The newsletter platform announced the package on LinkedIn on August 6, describing it as making newsletters “5x better.” That is company framing rather than a measured performance claim, but the breadth of the release is notable. It gives publishers more ways to react to reader behavior, control distribution, negotiate advertising arrangements, and build emails without leaving Beehiv.
More Control Over Automation and Sending
Click Triggers connect a subscriber’s link-clicking activity with Beehiv automations. In practical terms, publishers can use engagement with a particular link as the starting signal for a follow-up workflow. That could make automations more relevant than campaigns based only on subscription status or elapsed time, although Beehiv’s announcement does not specify the available conditions, actions, or reporting options.
Random Cohort Sends address a different operational need. The feature’s name indicates that publishers can send to a randomly selected portion of an audience, which could be useful for controlled tests, gradual rollouts, or campaigns that should not reach the entire list. Beehiv has not disclosed cohort size controls or whether results can be promoted automatically to the remaining audience.
The Send API, meanwhile, gives Max-plan customers a programmatic route to sending. It is the most developer-oriented part of the update, potentially allowing external products and internal workflows to initiate newsletter sends through Beehiv. The announcement does not provide API documentation, rate limits, or details about authentication, so teams should review Beehiv’s product documentation before planning production integrations.

Custom Group Deals expand Beehiv’s monetization tooling. While the company did not explain how deal creation, targeting, pricing, or reporting works, the feature suggests more flexibility for commercial arrangements involving groups of publishers or campaigns. It fits Beehiv’s broader effort to become more than an email editor, following its recent expansion into community, podcasts, and AI tools.
The Visual Editor Moves Into Stable Release
The stable release of the Visual Editor may be the most immediately relevant change for small teams. A stable designation generally signals that a feature has moved beyond an earlier testing phase and is ready for wider use, reducing the risk of building recurring production workflows around an experimental interface.
For operators, the combined release matters because these capabilities cover several stages of the same newsletter workflow. A team can design an edition visually, choose a random audience segment, automate follow-up based on clicks, and potentially trigger sends from another application. Publishers with advertising operations also gain another option for structuring group deals.
Important details remain unanswered. Beehiv identified the Send API as a Max-plan feature, but did not state plan requirements for Click Triggers, Custom Group Deals, Random Cohort Sends, or the stable Visual Editor. It also did not publish separate rollout dates in the announcement. Customers should therefore confirm feature access inside their accounts or through Beehiv’s official changelog.
Frequently asked questions
What are Beehiv Click Triggers?
Click Triggers allow link clicks to act as triggers for newsletter automations. They are intended to help publishers start follow-up workflows based on subscriber engagement, though Beehiv has not yet detailed the full set of supported conditions and actions.
Which Beehiv plan includes the Send API?
Beehiv says the Send API is available on Max plans. The announcement does not provide pricing, technical limits, or access requirements beyond that plan designation.
When are these Beehiv features available?
The company announced the update on August 6, 2026, and described the Visual Editor as a stable release. It did not provide individual rollout dates or plan availability for the other features, so customers should check their account and the official changelog.
Sources
1 checkedHow we cover tool news: Create With's tool desk drafts these reports with AI from the sources listed above and checks them against those sources before publishing.



