
Notion is adding another model to its increasingly crowded AI toolbox. The company said Grok 4.6 is now available inside Notion, giving users access to xAI’s latest large language model without moving their work into a separate chatbot.
The company disclosed the release in a brief LinkedIn announcement on August 12. Notion did not provide detailed release notes, benchmarks or plan requirements alongside the post. The central update is straightforward: Grok 4.6 joins the models available for AI-assisted work inside the Notion workspace.
For small teams, that means Grok can potentially be applied where the underlying material already lives. Typical uses include drafting copy from a project brief, analyzing notes, condensing research and summarizing internal documents. Keeping those tasks inside Notion can reduce the copying and pasting required when using a standalone AI service, although the announcement does not specify which Notion surfaces support the model or how much workspace context it can access.
Model Choice Is Becoming a Notion Feature
The addition matters less as a one-off model release than as evidence of Notion’s broader strategy. Rather than tying its AI layer to a single provider, the company has been expanding the selection of models users can bring to knowledge-work tasks.
Grok 4.6 follows Notion’s addition of Claude, including the Claude Opus 5 model. Notion has also integrated the open-weight Kimi K3 model through Fireworks AI. Together, those releases suggest model selection is becoming part of the product rather than an implementation detail hidden from users.
That can be useful because different models may produce different results from the same source material. A business could compare models for tasks such as:
- Drafting: Turning notes, requirements or research into a first version of a document.
- Analysis: Identifying themes, inconsistencies or action items across workspace content.
- Summarization: Reducing long pages and meeting records into concise updates.
- Rewriting: Adjusting structure, clarity or tone while keeping the source close at hand.
Notion has not published Grok 4.6-specific evaluations for these tasks. Teams considering it for important workflows should therefore test representative prompts and review outputs rather than assuming the newest model will be the best option for every job.
What Builders Should Watch
The release also lands as Notion pushes beyond basic writing assistance toward agents and programmable workflows. Its developer platform allows builders to create custom tools for Notion Agents, including tools that query live data, call external APIs and generate assets from documents. Recent product changes have also allowed users to share pages directly with custom agents and trigger agents from AI Meeting Notes.
The Grok announcement does not say whether Grok 4.6 can power every agent workflow, or whether it is limited to particular AI interactions. That distinction will determine how significant the update becomes for builders. Access inside a writing interface is useful, but availability across repeatable agents and automations would have broader operational consequences.
Other practical details remain unanswered. Notion has not stated which subscription plans include Grok 4.6, whether usage limits differ from other models, or whether access is subject to regional restrictions. Users should check the model controls available in their own workspace before planning a production workflow around it.
Frequently asked questions
What is Notion Grok 4.6?
Grok 4.6 is an xAI large language model that is now available within Notion. It provides another AI option for tasks such as writing, analysis and summarization using work stored in a Notion workspace.
Who is Grok 4.6 in Notion for?
It is relevant to individuals and teams that use Notion for documents, research, projects or internal knowledge and want another model to test against their existing AI workflows. Teams should evaluate it with their own material before relying on its outputs for consequential work.
Which Notion plan includes Grok 4.6?
Notion’s announcement did not identify a required subscription plan, usage allowance or separate price for Grok 4.6. Availability may depend on the AI features and model controls enabled in each workspace.
Sources
1 checkedHow we cover tool news: Create With's tool desk drafts these reports with AI from the sources listed above and checks them against those sources before publishing.






